The New Gallia-Germania Judaica
Pilot Research Project (2017-2020) for an European Digital Cooperative Project Judaica in Europe

Project

The New Gallia-Germania Judaica (NGGJ) – pilot research project for an European Digital Cooperative Project Judaica in Europe
funded by the State Ministry of Baden-Wuerttemberg for Sciences, Research and Arts, the Klaus Tschira Foundation and the Central Council of Jews in Germany (Zentralrat der Juden in Deutschland K.d.ö.R)

2017 marks the first centenary of the Germania Judaica. The project was conceived as an international reference work that would undertake the task of providing a catalogue of local entries on the Jewish History of all the cities, places, and regions within the German-speaking world. Now almost a century ago the first volume of the printed edition was published (GJ I: Von den Anfängen bis 1273).

Despite the events of the Shoah, the project continued to thrive into the publication of a third volume (until 1519). The corpus was deemed equally indispensable to both Jewish and General History alike and, after 1945, laid the foundations for futher transboundary cooperation between Israeli and German historians. Nevertheless, the work that would have later comprised the fourth volume (GJ IV bis 1650) never came through. In a similar fashion to the Germania Judaica, the project Nouvelle Gallia Judaica was launched by French scholars in order to replace its precursor of 1897, albeit without the adequate publication of any consequential works to date.


The New Gallia-Germania Judaica aims to weave these two reference enterprises and bring them to fruition. The project thereby concentrates on the timeframe from the beginnings of  Ashkenaz (ca. 900)—within the Jewish cultural sphere of Latin Europe—to the apogee of its development prior to 1300. Placing a strong focus on the central regions of Ashkenaz from the Upper and Middle Rhein region (i.e. today’s federal states Baden-Wuerttemberg, Hesse, and Rhineland-Palatinate) to Champagne. The project seeks to bring local entries regarding spaces and regions up to date. In doing so, the project does not intend to revise these entries for a book series, but rather to fulfill the aims of the initiators via constructive application of today’s technical means: as a digitally-safe, interactively applied, and a steadily maintained web platform with free and open access to all users. The platform should enable optimum accessibility and foster the awareness that Judaism is elemental in the inherent makeup of Europe, both historically and currently. The following outlined New Gallia-Germania Judaica lends itself as a pilot project for subsequently evolving Judaica in Europe.

 

The aim of the project is to establish a virtual and academically grounded Forum, which is designed to reflect sustainability and self-preservation, and which installs a European-wide communication structure (posting articles and introducing research findings) at an administratively minimal and thereby cost-effective level via quality-assured instruments. Furthermore, these challenges—both to found an efficient, transboundary forum of cooperative operations and to launch said forum effectively—present themselves dually with the gains, namely, the accomplishments of both an adaptable vehicle for awareness of individual locations and regions pertaining to their manifold Jewish histories, as well as a user-friendly data software development for specific questions. These achievements ultimately stand as evidence of the efficiency of transnational structures and the scholarly pursuit of a long-term pan-European network.

News

5. Juli 2017

IMC 2017, Leeds

Präsentation:

The ‘New Gallia-Germania Judaica’: An International Database of Jewish Settlements, Locations, and Migrations
(Language: English)
Clemens Liedtke, Hochschule für Jüdische Studien Heidelberg
Amélie Sagasser, Hochschule für Jüdische Studien Heidelberg
Index Terms: Computing in Medieval Studies; Geography and Settlement Studies; Hebrew and Jewish Studies

More Info:

https://tinyurl.com/k4zymvf

History

  • 1897

    The Origins: The Gallia Judaica

    Beginning of the Gallia Judaica under the direction of Henri Gross

  • 1903

    Germania Judaica:

    Upon suggestion of Breslau Rabbi and Historian Marcus Brann before a group of German speaking rabbies and Jewish scholars, the germ of the Germania Judaica is first discussed in the context of a board session of the Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaft des Judentums.

  • June 1905

    Starting the Work

    Board Session in Breslau; the first working draft is published in the society’s monthly journal.

  • 1907

    First Structures

    Presentation of an alphabetical table with localities and the personal names therein.

  • 1909

    Publishing of eight example articles.

  • 1913

    Pre-print of articles about localities and territories listing items A-L

  • 1914-1918

    World War I

  • 1917

    100 Years ago

    Publishing of the first partial volume (A-L) of Germania Judaica I for the period from the beginnings to 1238.

  • 1920

    The manuscript for entries M-Z is under review at the printing house where it’s misplaced.

  • The Twenties

    Ismar Elbogen takes charge of the project and asks the authors to reconstruct their contributions. Chaim Tykocinski takes over to write several articles as well as editing other articles.

  • 1933

    Hitler’s rise to power

  • 1934

    The 2nd Fascicle

    Publishing the second partial volume (M-Z) of Germania Judaica I for the period from the beginnings to 1238.

  • 1936

    On a meeting of the members of the society, Dr. Nachum Wehrmann advocates to expand the Germania Judaica up to the year 1500. Although the proposal is agreed upon, the year 1348 is still set as the date limit for the following volume.

    Until October 1938, more than 100 articles are available for review. During the pogroms in November, they fell into the hands of the Nazi party. The contributors are asked by the society to issue their articles again.

  • 1939-1945

    World War II

    At the beginning of WWII, 80% of the material is brought to safety in London. In 1954, it is transferred to the Jewish Historical General Archives in Jerusalem.

  • 1955

    The newly founded Leo-Baeck-Institut takes over the Germania Judaica II and assigns the project to Dr. Zvi Avneri at Haifa.

  • 1967

    Publishing of the first partial volume of Germania Judaica II (A-L)

  • 1968

    Publishing of the second partial volume of Germania Judaica II (M-Z)

  • 1969

    Starting the works on Germania Judaica III (1350 -1519). Appointed by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Arye Maimon succeeds Zvi Avneri.

  • 1972

    Founding of the Nouvelle Gallia Judaica by Bernhard Blumenkranz sel. A.

  • 1987

    Publishing of the first partial volume (A-L)

  • 1995

    Publishing of the second partial volume (M-Z)

  • 2003

    Publishing of the third partial volume (territories; introductions and indexes)

    In the preface to volume III/3 in 2003, the editors of Germania Judaica, Mordechai Breuer und Yacov Guggenheim, advance their plans to expand the project as Germania Judaica IV for the period up to 1620. The Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Heinrich Heine University of Düsseldorf come to an agreement for further cooperation. However, the project falls through after another partial volume (IV.2: Landgrafschaft Hessen-Marburg). The digital publication of the project never saw the light so far.

  • 2017

Team

 

Prof. Dr. Johannes Heil

Project lead

Amélie Sagasser, MA

Scientific assistance

Clemens Liedtke, MA

Software development

Stefan Gittel

Student research assistant

Joaquín Porras Ordieres

Student research assistant

Contact us

Die Neue Gallia-Germania Judaica
Pilotprojekt (2017-2020) für ein digitales europäisches Kooperationsprojekt JUDAICA IN EUROPA am Ignatz Bubis- Stiftungslehrstuhl der Hochschule für Jüdische Studien Heidelberg

Projekt

Die Neue Gallia-Germania Judaica (NGGJ) – Pilotprojekt (2017-2020) für ein digitales europäisches Kooperationsprojekt Judaica in Europa
gefördert vom Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst,
der Klaus Tschira Stiftung
sowie dem Zentralrat der Juden in Deutschland K.d.ö.R.

2017 sind hundert Jahre seit Erscheinen des ersten Teils der  Germania Judaica  vergangen. Das weltweit einzigartige Pionierwerk jüdischer Historiker bietet Ortsartikel zur jüdischen Geschichte aller Städte, Orte und Landschaften des deutschsprachigen Raums. Das für die jüdische und allgemeine Geschichte gleichermaßen unentbehrliche Standardwerk hat sich gegen vielerlei Widrigkeiten behauptet und wurde selbst in den Jahren der NS-Herrschaft fortgeführt.

Nach 1945 bereiteten die Arbeiten an der GJ den Boden für die Zusammenarbeit israelischer und deutscher Historiker. Zwischenzeitlich ist das Werk bis zum Abschluss des 3. Bandes (bis 1519) gediehen, der 2003 abgeschlossen wurde und alleine drei Teilbände umfasst. Eine geplante Fortführung ist nicht über Anfänge hinaus gelangt. Analog zu den Arbeiten im deutschsprachigen Raum wurde von französischen Wissenschaftlern das Projekt der Nouvelle Gallia Judaica zur Ersetzung des Vorgängerwerks von 1897 gestartet, ohne dass ein entsprechendes Werk bislang zur Publikation gelangt wäre.


Die digitale Neue Gallia-Germania Judaica wird diese beiden Stränge für die Zeit bis 1300 aufgreifen. Denn die Beiträge der GJ 1 werden weiterhin zitiert, sind aber angesichts zahlreicher jüngerer Forschungen in die Jahre gekommen. Mit Fokus auf die Kernlandschaften von Aschkenas vom Ober- und Mittelrhein (also die heutigen Bundesländer Baden-Württemberg, Hessen und Rheinland-Pfalz) bis zur Champagne werden grenzüberschreitend die Orts- und Landschaftsartikel auf den neuesten Forschungsstand gebracht. Dabei ist keine Neubearbeitung als Buchreihe geplant, sondern den Absichten der Initiatoren von einst soll unter konsequentem Einsatz der heutigen technischen und medialen Möglichkeiten entsprochen werden: als digital gestützte, interaktiv angelegte und auf kontinuierliche Fortschreibung ausgerichtete Web-Plattform mit kostenfreiem Zugang für die Nutzer (open access). Sie wird ein barrierefreies Arbeiten ermöglichen und sicherstellen, dass Judentum als integraler Teil europäischer Geschichte und Gegenwart wahrnehmbar wird. Die digitale Neue Gallia-Germania Judaica wird vom Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg, der Klaus Tschira-Stiftung und dem Zentralrat der Juden in Deutschland K.d.ö. R. gefördert. Sie ist als Pilotprojekt im Verbund mit Partnern in Deutschland, Frankreich und Israel angelegt und soll die Voraussetzung für das anschließende, weiter gefasste Projekt der Judaica in Europa bereiten.


Der Herausforderung, ein effizientes, grenzüberschreitendes Forum kooperativen Arbeitens zu etablieren und wirksam in Gang zu setzen, steht der zu erwartende Ertrag gegenüber: er besteht neben der Gewinnung eines fortschreibungsoffenen Kenntnisstandes für einzelne Orte und Regionen sowie der einfach zugänglichen Bereitstellung von Daten für Einzelfragen auch im Nachweis der Effizienz transnationaler Strukturen zur wissenschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit im europäischen Verbund. Die Artikel werden auf dem jeweils neuesten Stand der Forschung einen raschen Überblick über Geschichte, Institutionen und Personen  einzelner Städte, Orte und Landschaften erlauben für Wissenschaft, Unterricht, Projektarbeiten und persönliche Interessen auch Querabfragen zu übergreifenden Themen.

Aktuelles

5. Juli 2017

IMC 2017, Leeds

Präsentation:

The ‚New Gallia-Germania Judaica‘: An International Database of Jewish Settlements, Locations, and Migrations
(Language: English)
Clemens Liedtke, Hochschule für Jüdische Studien Heidelberg
Amélie Sagasser, Hochschule für Jüdische Studien Heidelberg
Index Terms: Computing in Medieval Studies; Geography and Settlement Studies; Hebrew and Jewish Studies

Weitere Infos:

https://tinyurl.com/k4zymvf

Geschichte

  • 1897

    Die Anfänge: Die Gallia Judaica

    Geburt der Gallia Judaica unter der Leitung von Henri Gross

  • 1903

    Die Germania Judaica

    Die Idee einer Germania Judaica wird auf Anregung vom Breslauer Rabbiner und Historiker Marcus Brann innerhalb einer Gruppe deutschsprachiger Rabbiner und jüdischer Gelehrter auf einer Ausschusssitzung der Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaft des Judentums formuliert.

  • Juni 1905

    Die Arbeit wird aufgenommen

    Sitzung des Ausschusses in Breslau; Erarbeitung eines Arbeitsentwurfs veröffentlicht in der Monatsschrift der Gesellschaft.

  • 1907

    Erste Strukturen

    Präsentation des alphabetischen Verzeichnisses der Ortschaften und der darin enthaltenden Personennamen.

  • 1909

    Veröffentlichung von acht Probeartikeln.

  • 1913

    Druckvorbereitung der Beiträge zu den Orts- und Landschaftsartikel der Buchstaben A – L

  • 1914-1918

    1. Weltkrieg

  • 1917

    Vor 100 Jahren

    Erscheinung des ersten Teilbandes (A-L) der Germania Judaica I für die Zeit von den Anfängen bis 1238

  • 1920

    Das Manuskript mit den Einträgen M-Z liegt der Druckerei zur Begutachtung vor, geht dort allerdings verloren.

  • 20er Jahre

    Ismar Elbogen nimmt sich des Projektes neu an und bittet die Autoren ihre Beiträge zu rekonstruieren. Chaim Tykocinski übernimmt die Abfassung einer Reihe von Artikeln sowie auch die Redaktion der anderen Artikel.

  • 1933

    Machtergreifung Hitlers

  • 1934

    Der 2. Faszikel

    Erscheinung des zweiten Teilbandes (M-Z) der Germania Judaica I für die Zeit von den Anfängen bis 1238

  • 1936

    Antrag zur Fortsetzung der Germania Judaica bis zum Jahr 1500 durch Dr. Nachum Wehrmann auf der Mitgliederversammlung der Gesellschaft. Dieser Vorschlag fand Anklang, allerdings wurde das Jahr 1348 als Zäsur für den Folgeband festgelegt.

    Bis Oktober 1938 liegen bereits mehrere hundert Beiträge zur Redaktion vor. Letzere geraten allerdings im Zusammenhang der Novemberpogrome in die Hände der NS-Behörden. Die Autoren werden von der Gesellschaft gebeten, die Artikel erneut auszufertigen.

  • 1939-1945

    2. Weltkrieg

    Zu Beginn des 2. Weltkrieges werden 80% der Unterlagen nach London in Sicherheit gebracht. Letztere werden 1954 in die Jewish Historical General Archives nach Jerusalem überführt.

  • 1955

    Das neu gegründete Leo-Baeck-Institut nimmt sich der Germania Judaica II an und überträgt diese Aufgabe dem in Haifa ansässigen Dr. Zvi Avneri.

  • 1967

    Erscheinung des ersten Teilbands der Germania Judaica II (Einträge A-L)

  • 1968

    Erscheinung des zweiten Teilbandes der Germania Judaica II. (Einträge M-Z)

  • 1969

    Aufnahme der Arbeiten an der Germania Judaica III. (1350 -1519). Beauftragt von der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem tritt Arye Maimon die Nachfolge Zvi Avneri an.

  • 1972

    Gründung der Nouvelle Gallia Judaica durch Bernhard Blumenkranz sel. A.

  • 1987

    Erscheinung des ersten Teilbandes (Einträge A-L)

  • 1995

    Erscheinung des zweiten Teilbandes (Einträge M-Z)

  • 2003

    Erscheinung des dritten Teilbandes (Gebietsartikel; Einleitungsartikel und Indices)

    Die Herausgeber der Germania Judaica, Mordechai Breuer und Yacov Guggenheim teilen im Vorwort zu III/3 im Jahr 2003 den Plan zur Fortsetzung des Projekts als Germania Judaica IV für den Zeitraum bis 1620 mit. Dafür werden Kooperationen zwischen der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem und der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf eingerichtet. Erschienen ist der Teilband IV. 2: Landgrafschaft Hessen-Marburg. Die  angekündigte digitale Aufbereitung wurde bislang nicht umgesetzt.

  • 2017

Mitarbeiter

Prof. Dr. Johannes Heil

Projektleiter

Amélie Sagasser, MA

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Clemens Liedtke, MA

Software-Entwicklung

Stefan Gittel

Studentische Hilfskraft

Joaquín Porras Ordieres

Studentische Hilfskraft

Kontakt